About CPSE

State and Regional Consortiums Information

Accreditated agencies and credentialed professionals have found that banding together to form regional consortiums is an effective networking opportunity. Listed below are the existing consortiums including what regions they cover, who to contact for more information, and details on their meeting frequency and location.  

 

Arizona

Region Covered: State of Arizona
Official Name: Arizona Accreditation and Credentialing Consortium
Primary Contact: Michael Walton, CFO, CTO, Battallion Chief, Yuma Fire Department, Michael.walton@yumaaz.gov
Secondary Contact: Jake Rhoades, CFO, CEMSO, CTO, Fire Chief, Kingman Fire Department, jrhoades@cityofkingman.gov
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly
Meeting Locations: In coordination with CPSE workshops or AZ Fire Chiefs Conference

California
 Region Covered: California 
 Official Name: California Fire Rescue Accreditation and Credentialing Consortium 
 Primary Contact: Danielle Bryan, Management Assistant, Anaheim Fire & Rescue, dbryan@anaheim.net


Canada

Region Covered: Canada, with branches in Ontario and Alberta
Official Name: Canada Consortium
Primary Contact: Ryan Schubert, Deputy Chief, Waterloo Fire Rescue, Ryan.schubert@waterloo.ca, 519-778-8502
Secondary Contact: Craig Dart, Division Chief, Toronto Fire Service, cdart@toronto.ca, 416-529-2373
Frequency of Meetings: Annually, at the Excellence Conference
Other Information: Southern Ontario Branch meets semi-annually and rotates through locations around Toronto

Florida

Region Covered: State of Florida
Official Name: Florida Association for Fire Accreditation and Professional Credentialing 
Primary Contact: James White, CFO, Fire Chief, Winter Park Fire Rescue, jwhite@cityofwinterpark.org

Georgia

Region Covered: State of Georgia
Official Name: Georgia Association for Fire Accreditation and Professional Credentialing 
Primary Contact: Tom Burrell, Captain, DeKalb County Fire Department, TBBurrell@dekalbcountyga.gov

Great Lakes

Region Covered: States of Illinois and Wisconsin
Official Name: Great Lakes Fire Accreditation Managers
Primary Contact: Mark Puknaitis, CFO, Fire Chief, Naperville Fire Department, puknaitism@naperville.il.us
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly

Heart of America

Region Covered: States of Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Arkansas
Official Name: The Heart of America Accreditation Consortium Task Force of the Heart of America Fire Chiefs Council in Kansas City.
Primary Contact: Donald Tinsley, Division Chief, Lenexa Fire Department, dtinsley@lenexa.com, 913-477-7914
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly
Location of Meetings: Lenexa Fire Station #93

Iowa

Region Covered: States of Iowa and South Dakota 
Primary Contacts: Dennis Eads, Fire Management Analyst, Davenport Fire Department, deads@ci.davenport.ia.us

Michigan-Ohio-Indiana

Region Covered: States of Michigan, Indiana and Ohio
Official Name: Michigan - Ohio - Indiana Accreditation and Professional Credentialing Consortium 
Website: www.moiconsortium.com
Primary Contact: Dave Dauer, Batallion Chief (ret), Toledo Fire and Rescue Department, Dave.dauer@toledo.oh.gov, 419-245-1175
Secondary Contact: Brad Brown, FO, Captain, Grand Rapids Fire Department, bbrown@grfd.gov, 616-456-3344
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly
Location of Meetings: Varies 

North Carolina

Region Covered: State of North Carolina
Official Name: North Carolina Accreditation Support Consortium
Primary Contact: Marlene Kostyrka, CFO, Batallion Chief Winston-Salem Fire Department, marlenek@cityofwsfire.org, 336-399-6444
Secondary Contact: Susanna Williams, Fire Chief, Carrboro Fire-Rescue Department, swilliams@townofcarrboro.org, 919-918-7349
Frequency of Meetings: Typically, quarterly on the 3rd Thursday of month
Location of Meetings: Greensboro Training Facility

Rocky Mountain

Region Covered: States of Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico, Utah
Official Name: Rocky Mountain Accreditation and Professional Credentialing Consortium
Primary Contact: Holger Durre, Deputy Fire Chief, Boulder Fire-Rescue, durreh@bouldercolorado.gov, 970-219-5326
Secondary Contact: Steve Dubay, Deputy Chief, Colorado Springs Fire Department, sdubay@springsgov.com, 719-385-7207
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly
Location of Meetings: Rotates to different geographic regions of CO
Other Info: The consortium's goal is to support agencies that are interested in pursuing accreditation, from the initial interest to maintaining accreditation with educational opportunities, real-world problem solving, mock site visits, and mentoring. A secondary goal is to support individuals achieve professional credentialing with education, mentors and application review.

South Carolina

Region Covered: State of South Carolina
Official Name: South Carolina Accreditation Consortium
Primary Contact: Stephanie Julazadeh, Captain, North Charleston Fire Department, sjulazadeh@northcharleston.org, 843-434-3804
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly
Location of Meetings: Upcoming location decided at conclusion of current meeting.

Tennessee

Region Covered: State of Tennessee
Official Name: The Tennessee Fire Credentialing and Accreditation Consortium (TFCA)
Primary Contact: Brian Goss, CFO, Fire Chief, Brentwood Fire and Rescue Department, Brian.goss@brentwoodtn.gov, 615-371-0170
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly in conjunction with TN Fire Chiefs Association
Location of Meetings: Determined by location of quarterly and annual meetings of the TN Fire Chiefs Association
Other Info: TFCA promotes the CPSE credentialing and accreditation processes as personal and organizational development tools, and encourages all agencies to engage in the models regardless of whether or not the end goal is to actually achieve accreditation and/or credentialing.

Texas
Region Covered: State of Texas
Official Name: Center for Public Safety Excellence - Texas Consortium
Primary Contact: Leonard Chan, Accreditation & Compliance Coordinator, Cedar Park Fire Department, leonard.chan@cedarparktexas.gov
Secondary Contact: Randall F. Parr, Fire Chief, EFO, CFO, Tomball Fire Department, rparr@tomballtx.gov
Frequency of Meetings: Triannual
Location of Meetings: Meetings may be through the internet, teleconference, or in-person.
Other Info: Texas Consortium Facebook page

Virginia

Region Covered: Commonwealth of Virginia
Official Name: Virginia State Fire Accreditation and Credentialing Consortium
Primary Contact: Robert E. Lee, CFO, Assistant Chief, Newport News Fire Department, relee@nnva.gov, 757-570-0882
Secondary Contact: Amy Valdez, Batallion Chief, Virginia Beach Fire Department, avaldez@vbgov.com, 757-285-4211
Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly
Location of Meetings: Henrico County Fire Training Center