CEMSO Designation Process


Individuals seeking the Chief EMS Officer (CEMSO) designation complete an application consisting of seven components:

  1. Personal, employment, and department demographic information
  2. Letters of reference
  3. Professional development
    1. Education (formal degrees)
    2. Certifications
    3. Training/courses
    4. Development goals
  4. Professional contributions and recognition
  5. Professional memberships, affiliations, and community involvement
  6. Technical competencies
    1. Outline of the knowledge, skills, and abilities needed for each one of 18 proficiency areas
    2. Exemption from technical competency component for chief medical officers with a certain level of experience and education
  7. Certification statement

Code of Professional Conduct

Participants in the designation program are required to comply with the Code of Professional Conduct and the administration thereof. Non-compliance may be cause for termination from the program or revocation of the designation.

Peer Review of Portfolio

A team of peers reviews portfolios submitted for the CEMSO  designation. The peer review process includes:

  • Reviewing the application
  • Determining whether or not an applicant has met all program criteria and requirements
  • Conducting an oral interview with the candidate
  • Researching and verifying statements made on the application
  • Making recommendations to the Commission on Professional Credentialing on the candidate's eligibility


The Commission on Professional Credentialing (CPC) makes the final determination of applicant eligibility and confers the CEMSO designation.


The peer review process takes 30-45 days to complete. The CPC meets every 60-90 days to act on CEMSO applications.

Maintaining the CEMSO Designation

The CEMSO designation is valid for three years. The renewal is based on four components:

  • Professional development
  • Professional contributions/recognition
  • Professional memberships and affiliations
  • Community involvement