Leading the fire and emergency service to excellence

Ronny Jack Coleman Leadership Legacy Award

2024 Ronny Jack Coleman Leadership Legacy Award

Watch Manager Matthew Thorpe, FO, with the Royal Air Force Mildenhall Fire & Emergency Services, the only UK Accredited department, has demonstrated his commitment to both credentialing and accreditation. As the first Fire Officer (FO) designee in the UK, he has mentored others within Mildenhall and RAF Lakenheath Fire and Emergency Services through the process. Matthew has served as a CPC Peer Reviewer for the past two and a half years and has reviewed more than 15 FO applications.

At the 2023 U.S. Air Forces in Europe (USAFE) Fire Chief Conference in Germany he was recognized for being the first credentialed FO, CPC Peer Reviewer, and as a point of contact for providing guidance for the FO designation. He has developed classes on credentialing to assist members in his department to better understand the benefits of the process. He is a regular attendee at the annual CPSE Excellence Conference, and as both a designated officer and as an Accreditation Manager he brings what he has learned back to his colleagues, expanding the awareness of Credentialing and Accreditation.

Outside of CPC Watch Manager Thorpe has also achieved some significant awards including Air Force Outstanding Civilian Manager of the Year and 100 CES Civility of the Year.

Congratulations, Watch Manager Thorpe!

This annual award recognizes an individual who holds a designation through the Commission on Professional Credentialing (CPC) and has exhibited superior leadership and actions that have elevated the Fire and Emergency Service profession through mentoring, teaching, advocating, and sharing outstanding contributions.


Any individuals currently designated through the CPC, including former CPSE board members and former CPC or CFAI commissioners, are eligible to compete for this award. CPSE staff, contractors, and current members of the CPSE board, CPC, or CFAI are ineligible to compete for this award.


The nomination being submitted should highlight the individual for their significant achievements or contributions to the Fire and Emergency Service within the last five years.

The application will be evaluated and scored on the following criteria:

  • Accomplishments (in mentoring and professional development, including the CPC credentialing process beyond their own agency)
  • Initiative (including helping others beyond their own agency through mentoring and professional development, including advocacy for the CPC credentialing process)
  • Technical competence (including serving as a peer reviewer, credentialing mentor or instructor)
  • Additional achievements/contributions (including volunteer activities with the CPSE)
  • Additional information

Learn about other CPSE awards or contact CPSE if you have any questions.

Previous Recipients

2023 – Ben Perry, CFO 2016 – No Award
2022 – Jeff Lucas, CFO 2015 – James White, CFO
2021 – Norris Croom, CFO, CEMSO 2014 – Stephan Cox, CFO, CTO, CEMSO, FM
2020 – Stephen C. Prziborowski, CFO, CTO 2013 – Richard Marinucci, CFO
2019 – Derrick S. Clouston, CFO 2012 – Richard Mason, CFO
2018 – Rudy Ruiz, CFO 2011 – James M. Stallings
2017 – Steven Locke, CFO 2010 – Ronny Jack Coleman, CFO and Marc Revere, CFO