What is Credentialing?

CPC Credentialing is a professional designation model that recognizes career excellence and offers strategies for continuous personal improvement.

The Commission on Professional Credentialing (CPC) offers six distinct designations covering the various levels and specialties of fire officers. CPC provides an application process that officers use to develop their portfolio, training and support while developing their portfolio, and access to experienced peer reviewers. While it can be a bit of work to develop your portfolio; we promise it’s worth it.

Working towards, achieving, and maintaining your designation will:

  • Highlight your professional growth
  • Document strategies for your career enhancement and development
  • Demonstrate your commitment to life-long learning, skill development, and community service
  • Affirm your dedication to proficiency and delivery of all-hazard services to your community
  • Improve your chances of being successful in hiring and promotion processes by identifying you as a candidate with superior skills, knowledge, and leadership capabilities
  • Foster a source of pride for you or those in your agency you encourage to become credentialed

Ready to get started? Learn how to get credentialed. Need more information? Read on…

Which Designation is Right for Me?

The Chief Fire Officer is open to chief officers serving at or above the level of battalion chief.

Chief EMS Officer is open to chief EMS officers with a minimum of 10 years emergency medical services field or system experience as an Emergency Medical Technician, Paramedic, Registered Nurse, Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner, or Physician.

Chief Training Officer is open to administrators of training programs in fire and emergency service agencies.

Fire Marshal is open to fire marshals or fire prevention officers with a fire prevention bureau or management responsibilities over code enforcement, education, fire investigations, engineering, or other aspects of fire prevention programs.

The Fire Marshal Designee program is not affiliated, sponsored or endorsed by FM Approvals LLC.

Fire Officer is open to all junior officers, company officers, or those who have served in an intermittent acting status for 12 months.

Public Information Officer (PIO)is open to designated/appointed/volunteer PIOs serving in federal, state, local or tribal governmental or quasi-governmental agencies or working for a corporate entity that is supported by government or that serves in emergency support functions.


What are the CPC Model Components?

Designated officers are often described as being progressive and well-rounded. Part of the reason for this is the holistic scope of the CPC model. It looks at the “whole officer”, focusing on seven components that cover the span of an officer’s experience.

  • Education
  • Experience
  • Professional Development (training and certifications)
  • Professional Contributions and Recognitions
  • Professional Memberships and Affiliations
  • Technical Competence
  • Community Involvement

Aligning Mutliple Designations

Effective January 1, 2023, any designee holding multiple designations may choose to align the renewal dates of their multiple designations. The decision to align the renewal dates must be made when the earliest designation is due for renewal. At that time, the new renewal dates and associated fees will be determined. The designee will be required to submit the full renewal fee for the earliest-renewing designation, the prorated fees for the remaining designations, and the applicable renewal applications. Once the renewal dates of all designations are aligned, they may not be separated in the future. Individuals interested in this renewal alignment option, should contact the CPC Program Manager for the specific dates, costs, and application requirements.


Can I align the renewal dates if I have multiple designations?

Yes, but only during the renewal process.

Do I get a discount for combining my designations?

Not exactly. Once you decide to align the renewal dates for your multiple designations, the first one to renew will require a full three-year renewal payment and if the other designations have a different renewal date, those renewal fees will be prorated to align.

What if I have multiple designation with the same renewal date do I get a discount?

No, the renewal fee will be full payment for all designations with the same renewal date.

If I have three or more designations, can I only align two of them?

No, all designations must be aligned at the same time.

Once I align my designations can I separate them later?

No, once aligned they will remain aligned.

When I align my designations what date will be used as my renewal date?

Once you align your designations, they will all renew on the date you aligned the renewals.